TEACHING ENGLISH AND CRAFT? WHY NOT?

It’s been a long time that I didn’t post any blog since I decided to reach my another 24/7 goal of my life. So today, here is the moment for another solving another teachers’ problem.

Last time, my friend faced a difficult situation that one of her student was not able to complete targeted lesson which is some vocabulary. So here I suggest her based on my experience. I could tell that mostly almost of children are the pictorial type. What is pictorial? It is one type of children in achieving learning objective through picture. Then, after you know what type of student you own, you can get around related matter. The key is knowing you students style. Teacher should be flexible and highlight student’s centre, not teacher’s centre

Here I’ll give the real illustration of this case. There is a female student in my class, approximately 3 year old that was not able to catch and recognize the word of vase. It could be happened by several factors. Some of them are never hear that word and never see the actual thing, exclusively if the word is not in their mother tongue like English. Therefore, English is one of the challenging subject to teach. Notwithstanding, I tried to put my nose to the grind stone. Eventually, I figured a method out. thus, I combine my taught with art and craft by pasting some flowers to the vase and stick them on the paper, and I pinpointed the target vocabulary of vase.

Before you teach the class, you can prepare these stuffs and make the example of the craft so your students can gain what it would look like.

Preparation:

  1. Prepare some color papers. You can utilize origami.

61LpGWsUaLL._SL1500_2. Then cut into a circle shape and cut that circle from the edges near to the centre of the paper.

images

3. Stick the small circle to make it more dazzling

P_20180125_115042

P_20180125_115029

4. Cut a straw into 3 pieces

P_20180125_114730

5. For the vase, you can cut this below shape or you can find in google image.

301f5d0270aa13bb82e00b7165b5109a

Now, it’s time to paste them step by step. Please notice that if you are students are still in very young age, they only can paste the final flower, not cut the flowers from the first step above. Dangerous thing probably occur.

Here the teaching steps:

  1. Introduce the example of the craft by pointing the vase. You can describe the function of it.
  2. Pass them the blank paper.
  3. Ask them to choose what colour of flower they like. This step, you simultaneously can encourage them to say colour in English.

P_20180125_115205

5. Land a glue if they can use it nicely and independently or the teacher put the glue into their paper solely before stick the flowers.

6. Next, it’s time to stick the stalk before the vase. In actual fact, they gain many vocab but you need to emphasize the targeted vocabulary.

P_20180125_114616

There you are. You can stick into the wall for review in the next meeting. So you can just point to them what that is and I’m sure that they will remember this word for long time. Good luck! Happy teaching!

Leave a comment